Sunday, 30 June 2013

CHED, DepEd grant tuition hikes to 58 schools in Bicol

THE Commission on Higher Education (CHED) and Department of Education granted 58 schools in the Bicol region to carry out tuition fee hike for school year 2013-14, including one in Catanduanes.

CHED allowed fee hikes in 22 tertiary schools while DepEd approved applications of 36 secondary schools for their proposed tuition fee hike ranging from five to 100% for the tertiary and four to 28% for secondary schools.

In Albay, the nine tertiary schools permitted to increase their tuition fee are Ago Medical Educational Center, Aquinas University, Bicol College, Bicol Christian College of Medicine, Daraga Community College, Divine Word College, Programming Language Technique College, Rapu-Rapu Community College and Republic Colleges of Guinobatan.

In Camarines Sur, six tertiary schools increased their fees: Aeronautical Academy of the Philippines, Ateneo de Naga University, La Consolacion College, STI Computer College, Universidad de Santa Isabel and University of St. Anthony.

Other provinces with tertiary schools allowed for tuition fee hike are AMA Computer Learning Center, Capalonga College and Mabini College in Camarines Norte, Catanduanes College in Virac, Catanduanes, Masbate Colleges in Masbate City and AMA Computer Learning Center and Veritas College of Irosin in Sorsogon province.

On the other hand, 14 secondary schools in Albay are granted by DepEd to increase fees: were St Michael Academy in Oas, Divine Word College of Legazpi , Tabaco Pei Ching School, Zamora Memorial College in Bacacay, Daniel B. Pena Memorial College in Tabaco City, St Agnes Academy in Legazpi City, St Peter's Academy in Polangui, St Mary's Academy in Ligao City, Computer Arts and Technological College Computer-Oriented High School in Legazpi City, Genecom Institute of Science and Technology in Legazpi City, Dominican School of Camalig, Aquinas University in Legazpi City, Republic Colleges in Guinobatan, Mayon Institute of Science and Technology in Ligao City and St Raphael Academy in Legazpi City.

 In Camarines Sur, eight private high schools are permitted to hike tuition fee: St Joseph Academy in Buhi, La Consolacion College in Iriga City, Ateneo de Naga University, University of St Anthony in Iriga City, Dominican School of Calabanga , Naga Hope Christian School , Capalonga Parochial School and Siena College of Tigaon.

In Sorsogon, five secondary schools are allowed for increases: Holy Spirit Academy in Irosin, A.G. Villaroya Technological Foundation Institute in Bulan, Jose Reyes Memorial Foundation in Bulusan, Solis Institute Foundation in Bulan and Dominican School of Pilar.

In Camarines Norte, five were granted to charge higher tuition: Camarines Norte Colleges in Labo, Our Lady of Lourdes College Foundation and La Consolacion College both in Daet and St Francis Parochial School in Talisay.

In Masbate, also four private high schools increased fees: Southern Masbate Roosevelt College in Placer, Holy Name Academy in Palanas, Masbate Southern Institute and St. Anthony High School Seminary in Masbate City. –PIA5/CatanduanesTribune

No comments:

Post a Comment